Seafair Triathlon

Yesterday I participated in a sprint triathlon relay with some friends I work with at Virginia Mason! It was part of Seafair that takes place annually in Seattle. The well-organized event took place at Seward Park which wound up being a perfect venue with comfortable temperature in the mid 60s (not to brag to my okie friends and family…where I hear it has been scaling the 100s lately.)

I have never done a triathlon before, but it was such a great environment that it kinda makes me want to do one eventually. It would be loads of fun and it would give me an excuse to purchase a road bike – something I've been wanting to do for a long time. The only downside being that doggy-paddling the whole distance of the swim may take a while. Dang.

We woke up at 5:00 am ready to roll! Lara (left) swam 0.5 mile, Edit (middle) biked 12 miles, and I ran the 5k at the end.

 

The water was pretty cold. And Lara was very though. Nothing screams “hard core” more than getting into freezing cold water that early in the morning (to me at least. I loathe being cold.)

For each gender there were swim caps for each age category which made it easy to see when you were on deck. There were about five minutes between each wave.

In the handoff zone waiting for Edit!

Did I mention Tyrel woke up at 5:00 to come with us for support? I honestly don't like going to races without him. It feels too weird. He's responsible for taking all these photos! Plus, he too, likes taking advantage of all the free samples of clif bars and electrolyte replinishers. Today we came home with a backpack full of 'em.

Exhibit A:

πŸ˜‰

Edit rolling in!

The exchange…

Finishing! I'm all about posting unflattering photos of myself these days. Hey…just keepin it real.

Despite the lack of joy on my face, I was having the best time racing in that environment!

One of the benefactors of the triathlon was Benaroya Research Institute. It's affiliated with Virginia Mason and does research for autoimmune diseases. They work on therapies to reverse those various diseases. So, this is us posing with a T-cell. No, it is not a life-size cluster of grapes as I originally thought.

After sampling just about everything, we headed to brunch at Cafe Flora.

The famished crew!…

My favorite moments of the day:

1. Waking up early to do something active with hundreds of people, of all ages and ability levels, who share my passion for endurance sports. Awesome.

2. Stretching in solitude pre-race thinking about how thankful I am that Tyrel sincerely enjoys going to these things with me.

3. Being on a relay team. Distance running is often done alone and sometimes the personal time is nice to clear your head, get into a rhythm, and just go. But…doing things you enjoy with people you enjoy…that's just a really cool experience.

πŸ™‚

 

 

2 thoughts on “Seafair Triathlon

  1. Aunt Linda says:

    Lana & Ty, thanks so much for the event and the pictures. We miss you both, can’t wait to see you in September!

  2. Risa says:

    love love love it πŸ™‚ we should do the kirkland tri as a relay! i’d have to pick something other than the run though since you would be our “ace”!

Leave a Comment

