Mossy curb, messy kneecap.

One thing I have come to accept, is moss. Moss covers just about everything here. From tree trunks, to roofs, to sidewalks. And just the other day I was thinking, “Wow I'm surprised I haven't tripped over it yet!” but it turns out I spoke too soon. Moss is the Northwest's version of the Midwest's ice. You don't necessarily notice it all that much until you're flat on your face.

 

As I left to go for a run a few days ago, I was appreciating the scenery and not watching where I was going, and slipped on a mossy curb into some gravel. It surprisingly didn't hurt, just bled a lot. As I stood there putting pressure on it with my glove, I contemplated what to do next, and decided to keep going because…

 

1.) I was only 2 miles into a planned 12 miler.

2.) It was a beautiful day and actually (for once!) not raining…too much.

3.) I was really enjoying the music on my “running” playlist.

 

So I kept going. Because it wasn't hurting, my platelets came to the rescue, and I could clean myself up once I got home.

I need new quarter length tights anyways. (See?! There's even moss growing on the pathway to our front door! Pesky stuff.)

Frustrated, I walked through the front door to see these!

It was a Friday, and Tyrel had come home early to surprise me! We've been so busy the last few weeks that we hadn't gotten to spend as much time together as we would've liked.
Best. Surprise. Ever.
Was that not the perfect timing?? 🙂 I sat there admiring them and thanking Tyrel repeatedly as I picked the gravel out of my knee with tweezers.

I love him a lot.

Here's what is currently on my playlist if you are like me and always enjoy finding new music to work out to!

1. *Madness – Muse

2. *Midnight City – M83

3. *I Follow Rivers – Lykke Li

4. Let's Go – Matt & Kim

5. Where the Kids Are – Blondfire

6. *Hopeless Wanderer – Mumford & Sons

7. *Superstylin' – Groove Armada

8. Work – LV (feat Spoek Mathambo)

9. *Trojans – Atlas Genius

10. Someday Soon – Doves

11. Johnny Appleseed – Joe Strummer & the Mescaleros

12. Cherokee – Cat Power

13. Jeeper Creeper – Sinkane

14. It's Time – Imagine Dragons

 

Hope you find some you like! 🙂 Happy trails, everyone.

 

2 thoughts on “Mossy curb, messy kneecap.

  1. Marisa says:

    i call all moss mold. eric makes fun of me. hate that stuff.

  2. Jade says:

    Oh Lana- Love reading your post. Miss you. I am just going to sit here and look up every song on that list that I don’t know…. just because I can! I admire your passion for running and hope one day I can just enjoy it a little. After reading, you gave me a great idea to buy Chris a new workout playlist for Christmas 🙂 xoxo- Jade D.

Leave a Comment

