Hey. How are you? Now that I have your attention let’s take a moment with me to marvel at the splendors of biodiversity, shall we?

These photos were taken within walking distance of where I live. (No, I did not run with a camera this time thankyouverymuch.)

_DSC0529

I swear to you I feel like I live in Fern Gully sometimes.

_DSC0530

_DSC0521

I like to imagine people used those as loin cloths back in the day.

_DSC0577

_DSC0516

What does that plant make you think of? It makes me think of varying sizes of handlebar mustaches.

_DSC0515

_DSC0514

_DSC0489

Not that you asked, but that plant makes me think of octopus tentacles.

Slugs seem to be everywhere lately. On my early morning runs I entertain myself by playing a little game I made up called “slug dodging”. Trust me, it’s way less exhilarating than it sounds. (But hey, something needs to occupy my mind during those lonely miles, right?!) It keeps my mind occupied. Dodging black slugs are 1 point, brown slugs are 2 points, and snails are 3 points because their shells are fun. Dodging them sort of helps me work on keeping my knees up haha…bonuuus! Unfortunately, there have been times I’ve failed to “dodge” them properly. That’s minus 3 points…and quite slippery.

“Lanaaa…gross! Why are you talking about slugs?” Um. Because it’s my blog and I want to. Would you prefer I take a bunch of selfies while making the pouty-eyed kissy face, filter it through Instagram to make myself look better, and subtitle it with cheesy irrelevant song lyrics? K. Slugs it is!!

_DSC0511

_DSC0508

That slug, believe it or not, was about the length of the tip of my middle finger to mid-palm.

_DSC0505

_DSC0504

See the slime trail above?

Besides their mucous being protective, did you know that other slugs coming across the same slime trail can recognize their own species? It helps them find a mate. It also helps against predators because the mucous can taste pretty bad. (Although I can’t imagine slug mucous ever tasting good.)

Two random thoughts I’ll leave you with:

1. If you’re reading this and not from Oklahoma, please pray for the state. There has been so much devastation in recent weeks and I can’t imagine the magnitude of suffering.

2. Today I’m really thankful the sun is shining, and that the people I love most are happy, healthy, and well. On a smaller scale, I’m thankful for the unique plants and creatures I come across that remind me of all the creativity that went into making this planet. What are you most thankful for today?

5 thoughts on “

  1. Autum says:

    I can confirm that. So in my younger, more confused years I altruistically and naively volunteered to pick thick huge slugs out of my friend maria’s woodpile. It was slimy fun until I realized soap does not fully remove hours of caked on viscous goo. And my pb&j stuck extra firmly to the top of my palate and finger tips, and tasted disgusting. I ate it all though 🙂

  2. marisa says:

    if you want to see a slug-fest (and we’re not talking punches here) put a bowl or cup of beer in the ground and watch the slugs crawl right in and drink themselves to death! it’s nasty and fascinating all at the same time :D. and I think if you see a giant yellow slug those should be 5 points 🙂

  3. Cheryl Lacey says:

    Thankful and grateful for our family and friends!!!! Love you both, Mom Lacey

  4. April says:

    Safety and my family is what I’m most thankful for today. Wild night last night…but on a more fun note have you ever put salt on a slug..kills them of course but is pretty interesting/gross..Miss you

  5. Jack says:

    I am thankful for the posting (s) you send and for Gods wonderful creation of life. Nothing but love! PS 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Comment

