10 Things I’m Thankful For

The other day a friend asked me to blog about ten “micro” things I am thankful for, which I thought was an interesting and creative question to answer. “Micro” meaning it can’t be any of the big typical things one would usually say like “shelter” or “health” or “family”. They either have to be really specific or just [literally] really small. So here you go! In no particular order…

1. I’m thankful I don’t have a gluten allergy. That would mean no more naan bread or beer and those (I think) are the most delicious gluten-containing foods so that would just be the pits.

2. I’m thankful for chlorophyll because without it, nature would not be as beautiful because everything that is currently green would have to be another color and green is my favorite.

_DSC0499

3. I’m thankful for Tyrel’s keen ability to understand and forgive. He really gets inside my brain and heart and knows what’s going on before I can even verbalize it. And he’s quick to show me grace and forgive faults when Lana Darkside comes out without warning.

4. I’m thankful for harmonicas and didgeridoos because their sounds make me really happy.

5. I’m thankful for the process of mitosis and meiosis because without them we couldn’t make new humans or generate new, healthy cells to repair ourselves. Plus it’s just really fun to think about that taking place in our body as we speak. Our bodies are so stinkin’ cool.

6. I am thankful for mountains because they provide adventure, fun, and beauty every single season out of the year. Camping, trail running, hiking, skiing…

_DSC0053

7. I am thankful for my sister’s sense of humor. We’re pretty evenly matched in the weirdness category which A) makes me feel more normal than I truly am and B) makes me laugh really really hard.

IMG_2178

8. I am thankful for my sleeping bag. It’s the warmest, happiest place in the whole entire world. (Thanks, Ty! Best. Purchase. Ever.)

IMG_2384

9. I’m thankful for hard times and difficult circumstances. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t particularly enjoy them, but I am thankful for them because they make me a better person and live life with more gratitude and contentment than I would otherwise. Some of the hardest things in life also seem to bring the most joy, ya know?…raising kids (not that I would know but I can imagine), marriage, being obedient when you don’t want to but you know it’s for your good…

10. I‘m thankful for sushi and that obviously needs no explanation.

**What is something random that you’re thankful for?** 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “10 Things I’m Thankful For

  1. marisa says:

    You! 😊 looking forward to celebrating you next weekend!

  2. Lance Logan says:

    Thankful for my wife, for beer, and for old guys to run with…and drink the beer with 🙂

  3. Jack says:

    Thankful for pets: unconditional love, mixed breed types, color of beauty.

  4. peggy mills says:

    VERY THANKFUL FOR MY BRILLIENT GRANDAUGHTER LANA LACY!!!

Leave a Comment

